Plastic Surgery, Blogs, and Hopping, Blonde Princesses

When I landed my first ever internship at a plastic surgery clinic a few weeks ago, blogging was the last thing I had on my mind.

Blogging is so…I don’t know. It’s formidable, definitely.

I tried blogging a few times before, but I got so lazy and bored that they ended up as giant, weird blobs of nothingness. You know your blog is dead when you start comparing dancing cats to Michael Jackson.

I’m not trying to be funny. I actually did that.

What got me back here…writing to a possibly nonexistent audience (go me!)…was the internship that I first landed in December.

I’ve always wanted to be a doctor. I mean, I still have the second grade poster which says “I want to bee a doctor!” with a picture of me, dressed in a doctor’s costume, awkwardly cradling a bear. I jammed plastic syringes into my poor brother’s arms for five years (child abuse? I think so.) until my doctor’s kit was donated. Seriously, I had a doctor’s kit. That was some pretty legit stuff.

When I was generously accepted as an intern at a family friend’s plastic surgery clinic, this was what went on in my head between me and my conscience:

…Which quickly turned into this:

I was thrilled! And rightly so. I’d been searching around for an internship for months, but most places did not start to accept interns until they were at least 16. Add to that the fact that I could pass for a 12-year-old… and you have the situation I was in.

Hardly anyone would accept a 15-year-old girl with nothing to claim but a passion for medicine.  I was lucky, and I knew it.

The experience at the clinic in Beverly Hills has been amazing so far, and Dr. Lee and his staff have all been very friendly and welcoming.

So, here I am, writing this two months later. I’ve been interning every Saturday since early December, and Dr. Lee recently recommended that I start a blog to record my experience.

Whew. Daunting, but I think it’ll be totally worth it. So, here it goes. May this blog see every triumph and every failure, every mischance and every breathtaking wonder that I encounter along the way. Here’s to a brand new year and a brand new internship!

About The Human

I'm a sophomore at Yale University with a passion for storytelling and a massively sleep-deprived mind. My favorite things in the world include: airports, mummies, scones, bookstores, bear hugs, Wikipedia, and my dysfunctional family. When I'm not blogging, I'm hibernating, cartooning, teaching, unicycling (I know), and writing novels about edible magic and child-rearing criminals.

4 responses to “Plastic Surgery, Blogs, and Hopping, Blonde Princesses

  1. victorytie

    Hi Maddi! Good luck on your internship and blog! Looking forward to more posts; I’ll check in every now and then to motivate you to continue blogging!

  2. I thoroughly enjoyed your introductory post.
    I’m in San Francisco and do some work for Dr. Usha Rajagopal, who is a local plastic surgeon.
    She’s very welcoming also.

    I wish you well in writing your blog.

    Have fun!

    –Erika

Leave a Reply

